Hwardo Kwan International is founded in 1996. It is a member of  the following organizations: World Hapkido Association, Korea Kido Association, World Hapkido Federation and Global Hapkido Association.


Hwardo Kwan Translated in English it means the school of the growing mind. Hwardo Kwan Chief Master is Bo Mikael Lindström (7th dan hapkido/taekwondo). He has practised martial arts over 30 years.



Hapkido Hwardokwan Martial Skill Aspects

Hapkido Hwardokwan is an art that contains both martial skills as well as healing skills. The Hwarang Um Yang Kwon combat skills, the musool (martial skills) are divided into the four divisions of power found in Hapkido Hwardokwan.

Nae Kong - deals with one's internal energy (Ki power) development, control and direction. Through both passive (um) and active (yang) methods. Ki power development is taught via specialized breathing and meditation exercises in conjunction with specific physical exercises. The practitioner learns to develop, harness, and apply this human energy resources at will. Initially studied for health purposes and for use in the battlefield; at more advance levels this power can be controlled in conjunction with mental processes and can be extended from one individual to another for healing as well as combative applications. This internal energy is found in all living creatures, yet in the disciplined study of Hapkido Hwardo kwan one can learn to develop this power for truly outstanding displays of human energy and will, extending previously conceived limitations to unlimited possibilities.

There are five different senses of Ki which can be developed after you practice Hapkido Hwardo kwan Ki (power) development exercises:

Kyung Ki - making the body light
Jung Ki - making the body heavy
Chyel Ki - making the body hard as steel
Ma Ki - making the body numb
Shin Ki - increasing mental concentration and awareness

Wae Kong - takes its form in over 4,000 offensive and defensive combative applications found within the art and is the externalization of Nae Gong. Most martial arts are either tense and linear in their orientation or are soft and circular. Hapkido HwardoKwan combines both elements to form a natural and compatible combative system.

This phase of instruction includes all forms of hand strikes and blocks (trapping and grabbing as well as deflection applications, using the hands, wrist, forearm, elbows, arms and shoulders): 365 individual kicks; throws and falls from any position and onto any surface; human anatomical structure/function as it pertains to combative applications (knowing and utilizing the body's weak points to effectively control the opponent, regardless of their size); joint manipulation and/or bone breaking; finger pressure point applications; containment, control, and transport techniques; grappling applications; ground fighting and locks, forms for each sash; offensive choking/breaking techniques; defense against multiple assailants; counter-offense and defense for the above and additional advanced, secretive techniques.

These applications are taught in their combative form, yet with full control in order to minimize danger to the student. By practicing these diverse aspects, one can regain and maintain health through physical exercise while learning to control any antagonist with one movement.

Hapkido Hwardokwan techniques are implemented to the degree a particular situation dictates, applying a particular degree of response for each incremental escalation of force. Within this division of Wae Kong you can find over 4,000 techniques in Hapkido Hwardokwan. These 4,000 techniques have both practical effective ways and artistic ways of execution. So it requires tremendous concentration and a good memory to learn this curriculum.

Even though there are so many techniques, they are mostly designed so that it is easy for a physically weaker individual to perform them on a stronger opponent. So anyone from 3 year old children to 80 year old adults can learn them.

Moo Gi Kong - involves the offensive and defensive use of the over 108 traditional weapons found within 20 categories of weaponry. By learning these various weapon systems, the practitioner can most effectively utilize any object as a weapon as the situation demands.

Shin Kong - is the study, development, and control of the human mind in order to attain one's full potential and mental capabilities. Techniques are taught to achieve an increase in one's total awareness, focus, and concentration levels. This realm includes instruction in: controlling one's mind; ESP; development of the "sixth sense"; memory recall; understanding the natural laws of the universe; the study of human character and personalities; practical psychology; visualization; the art of concealment and stealth as utilized by special agents (Sulsa); as well as advanced, secretive applications.

These powers and more lie within the potentials of every human being and can be developed and utilized through the proper training methods.

Principles of Um and Yang

All of the techniques and concepts found in Hapkido Hwardo kwan are based on the principles of Um and Yang.

The three Elements of Um, the essence of Hapkido Hwardo kwan soft techniques:


Yu - soft, fluid force of flowing water. The power of Yu is deceptive; relenting under force; it draws its attack into its own stream of power and redirects it.
Won - is movement in circular directions. Its power may be seen in the rock at the end of a sling, or the power developed from a spinning motion.
Hap - as the third element of Um, it represents unity and combination.

The three Elements of Yang, the essence of Hapkido Hwardo kwan hard techniques:

Kang - is hard like steel or stone. Its power is illustrated in the form of a closed fist in a thrust punch or a straight front kick.
Kak - means angles. Its form is found in the correct angle of the joint when applying breaking and throwing techniques or straight angular blocks.
Kan - means maintaining proper distance. It is the opposite aspect of Hwa or combination and its form is found in understanding the distance between two opponents.

As you can see from these 6 aspects of Um and Yang the total combinations and possibilities of techniques are almost endless. The philosophies of Um and Yang are the foundation for the divisions of Hapkido Hwardokwan, and this can be seen in the 260 categories of over 4,000 techniques, 365 kicking possibilities, forms, and weapon study found in the syllabus of Hapkido hwardo kwan.


Healing Skill Aspects

Another important part of Hapkido Hwardo kwan is its healing skills. All advanced practitioners of Hapkido Hwardo kwan must learn these healing skills as well as the martial skills. If one can cause injury (or worse) then one must also have the ability to heal. The healing skills found in Hapkido Hwardo kwan are divided into 6 categories:

Ji Ap Sool - Acupressure

Chim Gu Sool - Acupuncture and Maxabustion

Yak Bang Bop - Herbal Medicine

Jup Gol Sool - Bone Setting

Hwal bop - Special Aids

Ki Ryuk Sool - Ki Power healing

Through the study of both the martial and healing skills the Hapkido hwardo kwan practitioner will have an incredible understanding of the strengths and weaknesses of the human body. This will not only help in a self-defense situation, but will also help the practitioner to understand and appreciate the fragility of human life. This type of understanding is crucial became it will help lead the practitioner to the further development of their character.